The Age Of Ignorance

 

You wanna know what’s awesome about being a writer?

I can see something, anything, and it can make me feel one emotion, just one and I want to write about how it makes me feel because I know that I can just write whatever comes to mind and it can hit me at any moment. I can have writers blocks for a month straight and then something hits me, something rubs me the wrong way or makes me think a way I never thought before and I have to write about it. I have to write about it not because I think anyone will read it or pay it much attention, but I have to write because it’s the only way I can organize my thoughts and put them in order, if I don’t…then stuff just stays with me. It will stay in my head for days and weeks and months and it will bug me until I put it in black ink.

You wanna know what sucks about being a writer?

The same damn thing.

Like tonight, I’m scrolling through Facebook and I see this hilarious postcops

Pretty funny right?

I laughed at this thing so hard because you know, it was just that funny or maybe I’m just really corny.

Anyway, I go to the comments, just looking through them and what do I see?

Dude 1: “in the usa, cop would have shot you out.”

Dude 2: “nah, he’s white.”

Dude 3: “If you’re white n not white trash, you’re privileged! Ignorance is to believe other wise.” 

These comments combined had 2,241 likes

2,241 people who think this way

What bugs me even more: I know there are more than just them who think like this.

It’s comical to me, not because they feel this way. It’s sad to me that they feel this way, but what is so funny to me about it is that in the age full of information, in this age full of technology, resources, the history classes that we’ve all taken up to now, none of those three men and the people that actually perceive the world that way seem to have learned anything.

I’m not saying that racism is not alive and well in the 21st century. I’m not saying that police brutality does not exist either. I’m not saying that Blacks, or Whites, or Gays, or Lesbians, or Latinos, or the Chinese, or the Japanese, or the Christians, or the Jews, or the Atheist have it easier than one group or the next.

What I am saying is that it is small minded to think that it is all aimed towards just one specific group of people.

I grew up living with my grandmother on a farm and I only saw my mom on the weekends because she was working. I had decent clothes, I went places, I had good birthdays, I had days where I was depressed, I had days where everything was okay but there was not a single day that I did not know what the struggle was.

For as long as I can remember I have been stressed out over things out of my control. I remember my mom being in jail. I remember allowing men to use my body because I didn’t have a dad to show me how a girl should be treated. I just wanted to feel loved and accepted. I remember worrying about the bills, and perhaps the reason I have such a strong fashion sense now is because I had to get creative with wearing the same things more than once. I didn’t know the inside of American Eagle, Aeropostale, or any “high end” store until I was like 14 and my mom was working a job where she could afford to buy my sisters and me “quality clothing.” I knew GoodWill and Wal-Mart clothes and that was pretty much it for a while.

I remember taking the city bus, taxi cabs, and even walking because my mom didn’t have a car for a long while.

I remember my mom moving from home to home for a while because on her own, she couldn’t afford to stay in once place for long so it almost felt like every time I went to stay with my mom on the weekends that we were in a new place with a new room but it was enough. I knew my mom was trying her best.

I remember cutting myself and having suicidal thoughts when she went to jail because I was like 11 at the time and I was going through the age where a girl needed her mom but mom could only make calls to me during the day and it was usually only one, around dinner time before school the next day.

I am the furthest thing from privileged but I have never gone without. I know the value of a dollar and the value of an education. I know that one needs book smarts and street smarts to be successful in this world, that one without the other is just pointless knowledge. I was taught to love all people, no matter their skin color or how they dressed or the way they talked, I only knew one thing: people are people. I never went without and hell yes, I had a wonderful childhood, I have a lot of great memories, but I have scars too and my scars aren’t worth any less or more than anyone else’s…they’re just my scars that have affected me in a way that I will never forget, they have altered my life in a way that I could never not remember. I never went without but I am far from privileged. I am white and proud, and I am far from white trash. I speak good English, I have refused to allow my circumstances to define my future, I want a good life for myself and I believe working hard without taking short cuts will get me there so long as I do what I NEED to do so that I can get to where I WANT to be.

So dude number 3: Please shut you arrogant mouth and get good statistics to back up your thought process before you go calling anyone privileged or white trash. People are just that, people. We’re human and we all make mistakes and we all have been through horrible battles and encountered awful obstacles but anyone, any person that wants to strive to be better and do better than where they are and what they came from does NOT allow their circumstances, their skin color, their religion, their past, or their present to define them. I am deeply sorry that you and the 24 others who actually liked your comment have allowed what they have gone through in life to prevent them from getting to where they wanted to be. My only hope is that one day you find happiness or at least something that makes you a little less bitter. Your perception of the world as a whole is incredibly sad. To call someone either “privileged” or “trash” as if any one is just one thing breaks my heart because nobody should ever be viewed that way. Nobody is just one thing, at least not to me.

Dude number 2: The “meme” or whatever you would like to call it is of a stick figure with “high eyes”(I suppose representing a stoner)

So please, tell me where he’s white, black, grey, red, blue, orange, or yellow. IT’S A STICK FIGURE. Is it really that hard to tell a difference to you or are you seriously just that jejune? These comments making everything about race are just pitiful. On average, there are 100,000 people shot every year in the United States, that’s an average of 289 people every single day.

Police killings in America have sparked a national movement for police reform, especially since the death of Mike Brown last year in Ferguson, Missouri.

Based on The Guardian’s statistics, police killed more white people than any other race this year. A total 385 white people have been killed by police this year, and 66 of them were unarmed at the time of their death.

Click Here for Source 1

People Killed This Year | Total: 1.0278
  • 509 White
  • 261 Black
  • 164 Hispanic/Latino
  • 62 Other/Unknown
  • 18 Asian/Pacific Islander
  • 13 Native American

Click Here for Source 2

Dude number 2: These are facts I got off websites with real data, NOT Facebook, Twitter, or just my own personal opinion but these are actual facts that I have included a link to so anyone that bothered to read this long thing could see for themselves. I will allow those statistics to speak for themselves, just know that you and the people that liked your comment are wrong and while police brutality is a serious issue, it is NOT towards one specific race so quit using information you get from social media sites and begin doing some investigating of your own.

Finally, Dear dude number 1: While I agree with you that police brutality is a serious issue, while it is crap that some people are handed a gun and a badge and think they are above the law; you added gasoline to an already humongous fire. You and people that think like you do are the most ignorant of all because it is people like you who look at one population of people and think that they are all bad. There are good Christian’s and there are bad ones, there are good cops and there are bad cops, there are people whom live up to the stereotypes of their race, religion, and belief systems and then there are those that simply do not. What infuriates me about people that think like you do is that you refuse to take people at face value. In a world full of labeling, drama, horrible and terrible violence, and pure evil, you CHOOSE to be apart of the generalizing that this world does but I bet it wouldn’t be okay with you if someone or a group of people did it to you.

You can’t walk into a Church and look at everyone there as if they all have the best intentions and you can’t look at all cops in a police station and assume that they’re all bad.

We are all brought up on different belief systems, morals, and values but you know what’s interesting? We all learn about the concept of good and evil, we all learned the same thing in history class. The idea behind the teachings is so we can be creative and smart enough to think for ourselves. We learn history because without it, we are doomed to repeat the same mistakes that our ancestors did. It’s all relevant and coincides because we need the creativity to think for ourselves so that we can be a different kind of generation. I am sorry, but I am not going to spend my life feeling like I owe anyone anything because of what the people of the 1500 and 1600’s brought into this world.I cannot be held accountable for what the people of the past did.

All I can do is try to be a voice for the future, to give insight and a different kind of perspective for anyone else who bothers to read this to see.

I am me and a person is just a person. 

Leave a Reply

